一键完成 NC 编程

自动化 CAM 编程可节省高达 80% 的时间

总部位于德国小镇 Weiden 的 BAM GmbH 常务董事 Marco Bauer 确信,如果没有数字化和自动化,任何制造公司都不会生存太久。因此,从公司网店到机器人辅助生产单元,他采用了一整套数字化和自动化处理系统。这套高效系统的一个关键组成部分就是使用 BAM 从 CAD/CAM 合作伙伴 OPEN MIND 引进的 hyperMILL® 的自动化 CAM 编程。

今天下单,明天送达 - 在我们日常生活中,这种服务被认为理所应当。那在车间中情况是怎样的?等待数周人们也是习以为常。当然,要按施工图纸制造的单独部件和组件需要更长时间。然而在数字化和工业 4.0 时代,我们可以加速许多流程的进行并使其更加灵活。

从事过商业信息技术研究的 BAM GmbH 常务董事 Marco Bauer 将数字化和自动化视为当代的巨大机遇之一。特别是对工业生产来说更是如此。Bauer 坚信:“由于新技术带来的可能性,我们要从全新角度看待这条工序链。在这个领域内,我们要争当创新先锋。”

“在这里,我们也与供应商 OPEN MIND 共同精简自动化流程。毕竟,我们想让 NC 程序尽快到达自动化生产单元。在初期项目中,我们成功将 CAM 编程所需的时间和工作量减少 70% 至 80%。”

BAM GmbH 创始人兼常务董事 Marco Bauer

独特的“按需制造”

当然,Marco Bauer用他的企业家精神支持着这一观点。2011 年,他接手了一家只有八名员工和四台机床的小型代工制造厂。在短短几年之内,他带领这家小厂完成了脱胎换骨的巨大变化,转型成为一家拥有约 170 名员工的现代化精密制造、特种机床建造和数字服务公司。
甚至公司网站也为访问者提供了多项特色功能。引人瞩目的是在线制造服务订单选项,即 BAM 的“数字服务”。“包括制造在内,我们已经在很大程度上实现工序链数字化,”BAM 创始人解释说。“这使我们能够搭建起‘按需制造平台’和网店,以实现金属板材切割定制化。在 mipart.comstahlnachmass.com 网站上,企业客户和私人个体均可在线直接配置和订购组件和毛坯。在上传定义所需组件的 3D CAD 数据之后,客户在 5 到 10 秒之内就会收到订单报价。确认订单后,即使是复杂组件,我们也可在三天之内送达。”

提高效率的驱动因素:数字化和自动化

为了提供如此快速的高质量制造工业零部件配送(无论是通过在线还是传统方式订购),BAM 已实现整条工序链的高度自动化。不言而喻,是软件实现了这种自动化。“我是一名计算机科学家,”Marco Bauer 解释说,“并且我们雇佣 30 名软件开发和研发人员。”

创新软件解决方案的杰出代表就是“按需制造平台”,即前述的 mipart.com 网站。它不仅确保客户快速收到订货,而且 BAM也 得益于这种更快的流程。这是因为在下单后,软件会立即全自动制定完整的工作计划。自动报价流程过后,CAM 编程人员是最先看到订单的团队成员。“在这里,我们也与供应商 OPEN MIND 共同精简自动化流程,”Marco Bauer 强调说。“毕竟,我们想让 NC 程序尽快到达自动化生产单元。在初期项目中,我们成功将 CAM 编程所需的时间和工作量减少 70% 至 80%。”

满足苛刻要求的 CAM 编程

长期以来,BAM 一直使用 CAD/CAM 软件编程。公司持续不断提高 5 轴加工水平,现有 12 个加工中心,其中 11 个采用 5 轴技术。2013 年,管理层决定,从 韦斯林的 OPEN MIND Technologies AG 引进 hyperMILL® CAM 解决方案。

在加入 BAM 之前,生产主管 Stefan Bauer 就有使用这套软件的成功经验。他认为,“hyperMILL® 是最好的 5 轴加工操作编程软件。这是因为,始终都有多种倾斜策略可供使用,让我能够选择适用于各种几何形状及机床运动配置的解决方案。”但在他看来,由于用户界面清晰直观,让人一打开软件就明显体会到 hyperMILL® 的强大优势,包括卓越的机床仿真以及碰撞检查和避让功能等。

hyperMILL® 全集成的 hyperCAD®-S ,进一步增强了整套解决方案的吸引力。OPEN MIND 专门开发这套“CAM 专用 CAD”系统,帮助 CAM 编程人员加快 NC 编码速度。它使用户能够快速轻松地在 CAM 与 CAD 之间进行切换,还可执行多种操作,例如添加支撑或夹持曲面,或封闭开孔等。

特征和宏技术 – 自动化 CAM 编程基础

“凭借 hyperMILL® 强大的 2.5D、3D 和 5 轴策略,我们成功地缩短了加工中心设置和编程时间,进而提高效率和产能利用率,”生产主管 Stefan Bauer 说道。此外,BAM 也显著增加了其制造产品组合的复杂性。这是因为,hyperMILL® 可为几乎所有应用场景提供高效的加工策略。因此,从最初只有一套 hyperMILL® 软件装机增长到现在的六套,而且全部包括 5 轴策略以及 hyperMILL® MAXX Machining 高性能套件的粗加工和精加工模块。

让 Stefan Bauer 及其生产团队(拥有高于业内平均水平比例的女性成员)欣赏的是,OPEN MIND 不断推出创新的策略和工序,持续推进软件发展进步。“使用特征技术、相关工序和宏数据库,hyperMILL® 还为自动编程奠定坚实的基础,通过重复利用现有的加工知识显著缩短了编程时间,”Stefan Bauer 补充道。

单独定制自动化

从销售和服务直到从事定制自动化解决方案工作的项目团队,常务董事 Marco Bauer 也称赞与 OPEN MIND 的良好合作,他强调说:“即使在处理高度复杂的应用和非同寻常的项目时,优秀的 OPEN MIND 专业人士也能始终为我们提供专业支持。对我们来说,一个决定性因素就是 OPEN MIND 独立开发自有软件。因此,我们能够非常快速地获得专为自动化项目量身定制的功能,这有助于实现跨越式提升。”

OPEN MIND CAD/CAM 自动化项目经理 Rico Müller 也对广泛密切的合作表示肯定。他就全自动编程解释说:“这对具有相似结构并需要相似加工策略的组件特别有效。因为 BAM 生产相当数量的组件种类,所以我们将交互式用户指南内置于自动化系统。现在,我们的 CAM 编程人员只需设置一些参数,即可扩大生产组件范围并显著降低编程工作总量。”

www.bam.group


图集

NC Programs at the Push of a Button

Time savings of up to 80 percent thanks to automated CAM programming

Marco Bauer, Managing Director of BAM GmbH headquartered in the German town of Weiden is certain that no manufacturing company will survive over the long term without digitization and automation. He, therefore, implemented a process landscape that is consistently digital and automated, from the online shop to the company’s robot-assisted production cells. A key component of this highly efficient system is automated CAM programming using hyperMILL®, which BAM introduced together with CAD/CAM partner OPEN MIND.

Ordered today, delivered tomorrow – in our private lives, we take this level of service for granted. And at the workplace? There, we are used to waiting for weeks. Of course, individual components and assemblies that need to be manufactured according to construction drawings take a little longer. However, in the age of digitization and Industry 4.0, it is possible to accelerate many processes and make them more flexible.

Managing Director of BAM GmbH Marco Bauer, who studied business information technology, views digitization and automation as one of the great opportunities of our time. This holds especially true for industrial production. Bauer is convinced that: “due to the new technical possibilities, we have to look at the entire process chain in a completely new way. In this area, we like to think of ourselves as creative pioneers.”

“Here, too, we are streamlining the automation process together with our supplier OPEN MIND. After all, we want our NC programs to get to our automated production cells as quickly as possible. In initial projects, we have succeeded in reducing the time and effort required for CAM programming by 70 to 80 percent.”

Marco Bauer, founder and managing director of BAM GmbH

Unique ‘On-Demand Manufacturing’

Marco Bauer certainly has the entrepreneurial spirit to back up this claim. In 2011, he took over a small contract manufacturing operation with eight employees and four machines. In just a few years, he transformed it into a modern company for precision manufacturing, special-purpose machine construction and digital services with around 170 employees.
Even the company website presents several unique features for visitors. What stands out here is the online manufacturing service order option, BAM’s ‘Digital Services.’ “We have largely digitized the process chain including manufacturing,” explains the BAM founder. “This has enabled us to set up an ‘on-demand manufacturing platform’ and an online shop for customized sheet metal cutting. At mipart.com and stahlnachmass.com, corporate customers and private individuals can configure and order components and blanks directly online. After uploading the 3D CAD data that defines the desired component, customers receive a quote for their order within five to ten seconds. Once the order has been confirmed, we deliver even complex components in up to three days.”

Factors that Drive Efficiency: Digitization and Automation

In order to offer such rapid delivery of high-quality manufactured industrial parts – whether ordered online or traditionally – BAM has implemented a high degree of automation along the entire process chain. It goes without saying that this automation is software-driven. “I’m a computer scientist,” explains Marco Bauer, “and we employ 30 people in software development and research & development.”

The best example of innovative software solutions is the ‘on-demand manufacturing platform’ known as mipart.com mentioned previously. It not only assures that customers get their orders quickly but BAM, too, benefits from accelerated processes. This is because immediately after an order is placed, the software has already created the entire work plan fully automatically. Following the automated quoting process, the CAM programmers are the first team members to see the order. “Here, too, we are streamlining the automation process together with our supplier OPEN MIND,” stresses Marco Bauer. “After all, we want our NC programs to get to our automated production cells as quickly as possible. In initial projects, we have succeeded in reducing the time and effort required for CAM programming by 70 to 80 percent.”

CAM Programming that Meets Demanding Requirements

BAM has been programming with CAD/CAM software for a long time. The company continually increases the level of 5-axis machining with eleven of the of twelve machining centers now employing 5-axis technology. So, the management decided to switch to the hyperMILL® CAM solution from Wessling-based OPEN MIND Technologies AG in 2013.

Stefan Bauer, Head of Manufacturing, had already successfully used this software before joining BAM. The way he sees it: “hyperMILL® is the best software to program 5-axis machining operations. This is because there are always several tilt strategies available, allowing me to select a suitable solution for every geometry and any machine kinematic configuration.” In his opinion, however, the strengths of hyperMILL®, which also include excellent machine simulation and collision checking and avoiding functions, become apparent as soon as you open the software, thanks to the clear, intuitive user interface.

The advantages of hyperCAD®-S, which is fully integrated into hyperMILL®, further add to the appeal of this solution. OPEN MIND specifically developed this ‘CAD for CAM’ system to help CAM programmers speed up NC coding. It allows users to switch back and forth between CAM and CAD quickly and easily, enabling them to add a support or clamping surface or to close a hole, for example.

Feature and Macro Technology – Foundation of Automated CAM Programming

“Thanks to the powerful 2.5D, 3D and 5-axis cycles of hyperMILL®, we have succeeded in reducing setup and programming times at the machining centers, resulting in increased efficiency and higher capacity utilization,” states Head of Manufacturing Stefan Bauer. BAM was also able to significantly increase the complexity of its manufacturing portfolio. This is because hyperMILL® provides efficient machining strategies for almost any application scenario. As a consequence, what started as a single hyperMILL® license has now grown to six – all including 5-axis cycles and the roughing and finishing modules of the hyperMILL® MAXX Machining performance package.

Stefan Bauer and his production team – which features a higher proportion of female colleagues than is normally seen in this industry – appreciate the fact that OPEN MIND is constantly evolving the software by introducing innovative strategies and processes. “With its feature technology and associated process and macro databases, hyperMILL® also provides a solid basis for automating programming and significantly reducing programming times by reusing pre-existing programming know-how,” adds Stefan Bauer.

Individual Automation

Managing Director Marco Bauer, too, emphasizes the consistently excellent cooperation with OPEN MIND – from sales and service through to the project teams that worked on custom automation solutions: “The competent OPEN MIND contacts always provide us with expert support, even when dealing with highly complex applications and exotic projects. One of the decisive factors for us was that OPEN MIND develops its software in-house. As a result, we were able to obtain customized functions for our automation projects very rapidly, which has helped us improve by leaps and bounds.”

Rico Müller, Project Manager CAD/CAM Automation at OPEN MIND, confirms the intensive and highly cooperative collaboration. With regard to fully automated programming, he explains: “This works particularly well for component assemblies that have a similar structure and require similar machining strategies. Since BAM produces a rather large number of component variants, we have built an interactive user guide into our automation system. Now, our CAM programmers only need to set a few parameters to increase the range of components and significantly reduce the overall programming work.”

www.bam.group


Gallery